• Miranda Torsing

The Ionian Islands archipelago


The seven islands, the most beautiful beaches of Europe.

Greece has seven Ionian islands, also known as The Seven Islands. Or as the Greeks themselves say: the Eptaninos. Corfu, Paxos, Lefkas, Kefalonia, Ithaka, Zakynthos and Kythira are part of these Ionian Islands Archipelago. The islands are located in the northwestern part of Greece, each has its own character and each tells its own story. For example, the Ionian Sea, with its clear waters and different shades of blue, is also called the Silver Sea or the Meadow of Io. Who was Io? The mistress of Zeus, one of the most famous mythological figures of Greek antiquity. Find out more about Io's mythology here

Read more about your journey at the "Yours Truly".